In a moment that might put college football’s iconic Fifth Down Game to shame, an MLB batter was inexplicably given a four-strike at-bat today. During today’s game between the Houston Astros and Boston Red Sox, Yordan Alvarez stepped to the plate in the bottom of the third inning with his Astros leading 4-0.
At the time, only every third “unfair pitch” was called a ball, meaning that a batter could only walk after nine pitches out of the strike zone. As time went on, the rule was dropped to eight balls, then seven, and so-on until four balls were settled on by the league in 1889.
During each at bat in baseball the batter gets up to three strikes to hit the ball. A strike is anytime the hitter swings at a pitch and misses or any pitch that is in the strike zone (whether the hitter swings or not). Three strikes and the batter is out!
A horn refers to a player striking out six times in a game; the term was coined by pitcher Mike Flanagan after teammate Sam Horn of the Baltimore Orioles accomplished the feat in an extra-inning game in 1991. Alternate names for this accomplishment are titanium sombrero or double platinum sombrero.
In slang, when a batter strikes out three times in a game, he is said to have completed a hat trick. If he strikes out four times, it is called a golden sombrero. He receives a platinum sombrero if he strikes out five times, and this dishonor is also known as the Olympic Rings.
To prevent a never-ending at-bat, a three-strike rule was put into place, giving a hitter three attempts to hit the ball. A consequence of this rule was the ball was now considered “in play” or a fair ball after the third strike, whether the batters hit it or not.
A “K” is used to refer to a strikeout in baseball because the letter “S” was already used to score a sacrifice. So Henry Chadwick, the inventor of the box score, began using the letter “K” in the 1860s because it is the last letter of “struck”, which was the common term for a strikeout at the time.
For a time, there was occasional incentive for the catcher to drop the third strike on purpose. With a runner on first, a skilled catcher could muff the catch of a third strike and throw the ball to second to initiate a double play. And as equipment improved, this play became easier to execute.
In baseball, there is no set limit to how many foul balls a batter can hit. Even though a foul ball is considered a strike, a foul ball will not increase the number of strikes when the batter already has two strikes in the count.
At that time, nearly every ballpark in the country featured a Bull Durham tobacco sign – a giant bull-shaped billboard – affixed to the outfield wall. Smokin’. All the games were played during the day, and relievers warmed up in the shadow of the bull. Over time, that area became known as the bullpen.
If the home plate umpire calls it a swing, then it is ruled a strike. An appeal can only be made by the defense if the home plate official rules it a checked swing/ball. The catcher would then appeal to the first base or third base umpire for a ruling.
Counts of 3–1 and 2–0 are considered advantageous to hitters (“hitters’ counts”), because the pitcher—faced with the possibility of walking the batter—is more likely to throw a ball in the strike zone, particularly a fastball.
In some leagues and in Major League Baseball prior to 2017, an intentional base on balls is issued when the pitcher deliberately pitches the ball away from the batter four times (or as many times as needed to get to ball four if the decision to issue the intentional walk is made with one or more balls already on the …
Unassisted triple plays
The rarest type of triple play, and one of the rarest events of any kind in baseball, is for a single fielder to complete all three outs.
Completely unofficial and no record books have ever been kept. The following pitchers had no problem with their pitch count, at least for one inning, as they started the inning, threw exactly three pitches and recorded three outs.
A five-strikeout inning has never happened in the majors. Multiple pitchers have struck out four in one inning, including earlier this season when Los Angeles Angels pitcher Luke Bard did it in the 14th inning against the New York Yankees.
A golden sombrero is awarded to a baseball player who strikes out four times in a baseball game. Having a four-strikeout game does not mean you only had four plate appearances, however.
A backward K represents the umpire’s third strike call against the hitter. This backward K means that the final strike against the hitter fooled them into not swinging. Since it looks strange on a baseball scorekeeping card, it stands out, which helps shine more light on that strikeout by the pitcher.
The backward K in baseball means that the batter struck out without swinging at the third strike. The backward K is used in the scorebook to keep track of players striking out without swinging.
“Batters may ‘steal’ first base on any pitch not caught in flight (the batter can be thrown out if he attempts to run).” Put simply, if there is a wild pitch or passed ball with no runners on base, the batter is allowed to just go for it. He can steal first!
They can choose to run, but if the ball is caught by a fielder, they must return to their base to tag up. If the fielder throws the ball to the base before the runner can return, the runner will be ruled out.
However, there is a key difference: A passed ball is deemed to be the catcher’s fault, while a wild pitch is deemed to be the fault of the pitcher. A passed ball is not recorded as an error, but when a run scores as the result of a passed ball, it does not count as an earned run against a pitcher.
If the next batter hits a ball to the center fielder who catches it on the fly for the second out, it would be noted as F8, with F for flyout and 8 for the center fielder. (In some systems, the letter ‘F’ is reserved for foul outs.
A foul bunt that is not caught in flight is always counted as a strike, even if it is a third strike and thus results in a strikeout of the batter. This is distinct from all other foul balls which, if not caught in flight, are only counted as a strike if not a third strike.
Yes. This is treated like any other pitch. The ball can be batted and if the batter is touched by the bounced pitch, he is awarded first base on a hit by pitch.